Bianca Dye – Radio Presenter

Describe yourself in 3 words:
Funny, Generous and Passionate.
What is your life motto?
Every time things get a bit crappy – something great ALWAYS happens for me… I’m a cat – I land on my feet … although I’m clumsy like a blind dog. LOL!
When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it taken to become successful?
Well showbiz is in the family blood so, I guess the day I first saw dad on TV. The joy he got from entertaining people, I picked up that bug, that passion and that absolute ego-driven, nutty side of you that makes pursuing any other career a waste of time. When you like to make people laugh – it’s addictive.
I live for it! I knew I wanted to be in the biz of making people feel GOOD! I didn’t know it would end up being radio. I studied acting and singing. I thought id be doing more TV, but radio is fabulous for that INSTANT feeling of knowing you have brightened (or annoyed!!LOL) someone’s day! I love that!
How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream?
Oh god!? Um…… well I LIVED it – you have to LIVE it, breathe it and want it. My days were consumed with dreams & post it notes saying “DO IT NOW!” I had lists of who to send my radio demos to and I got great joy in ticking off those lists day by day. I networked like a bandit – I’m very good at it because I ENJOY it. I love going out and meeting people, talking about life and all the crazy shit we go thru every day- it’s what makes me tick. I guess you have to have that sort of dedication with ANYTHING that you wanna do in life. Just make sure it’s what YOU really want, not what you THINK you should want! Otherwise you’ll wake up at 45 and go, Wow! I have a great house, a great car but I’m miserable.
Describe how difficult the business really is?
Oh you sooooo don’t wanna hear all that stuff! Cos then you would never do it!! HAH!
Put it this way, in media it’s still a HUGE boys club, whether people like to admit or not. It’s a fact. I’ve been on the receiving end of some pretty crappy situations cos a lot of “men” are intimidated by my personality, so I can be seen as “difficult”. I’m actually NOT hard at all…I’m a softy who just knows what she wants, what she is good at and what she is bad at. I tell it like it is and that is not a great way to get ahead.  I’m afraid there are many “yes” chicks out there who play the ‘game’ and I say, I WISH I could be that way?! I cannot tell you how MANY TALENTED, UNIQUE and amazing women are not in media due to refusing to bow down to all the bullshit. I won’t give up that easily, I ain’t going anywhere. I have another book waiting to go and I plan on taking the radio world by the balls again very soon!
It’s tough too because the tall poppy syndrome is alive and well – but I guess that’s in ANY gig right? You have to rise above it and surround yourself with loyal, fabulous, intelligent people, who love you for you. You have to stick to the plan even when they write nasty stuff about you. Just go for a run, come home and plan your next attack. Success is the best revenge and HAPPINESS is even BETTER!
What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson?
Be humble. Don’t let your ego get out of control. No one likes a successful ego maniac! They much prefer you unemployed!! LOL! Be nice to everyone, even if they treat you badly. Smile and BE BIGGER than them, it pisses them off and they may end up being your boss one day!!
What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date?
KEEP THE BIG PICTURE IN MIND and ask yourself, “will you care about that when your 80 in a rocking chair”? Seriously – it REALLY gives upsetting situations perspective when you think about whether it would be affecting you in 50 years!
What is the piece of advice that you weren’t given?
I wish I had heard the beautiful words that Amir Zoghi told me, “What would love do?” much earlier in my life. When you ask that question of EVERY situation, it softens it and makes you feel at peace. There really is only LOVE and Fear in this world. Both of these emotions drive our every move and our every thought… When things get too hard or you’re confused about something…think “what would love do?” it feels a bit hippy-mung-beany, but it works. Life’s too short man!
In your mind, is formal training essential?
Nope. LIFE is the best training of all. I’m 35 and I have to be honest, I’m only JUST feeling that I am actually equipped to offer something inspiring to people through the radio. Go and LIVE your INSPIRING LIFE!
What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career?
Find a mentor! Every person that worked for me as a P.A is now employed full time in the media!! (Two of them co host their own national radio shows! Bloody legends!) I guess I attract ambitious people. People who want to learn from someone, who has had a degree of success and has a passion for what they wanna do. Maybe it rubs off! Or, they see how tenacious and ambitious I am and they realise, that’s not a BAD thing. It’s OK to want it and they go for it! I’m happy about that…
Learn about what you wanna do BEFORE you do it, to make sure IT IS, what you want – don’t waste time chasing someone else’s dream man! Life is a gift, USE IT!
TAKE RISKS! It is soo ok to stuff up, I have – heaps! I was expelled from school and sacked from radio and TV gigs. I get up, dust myself off and it makes me stronger and more determined to make it!
What kept you going when you felt like giving up?
I often wonder that myself…I think it’s my genetic make up. My mum and dad are amazingly focussed, talented and best at what they do. They are stubborn, strong and won’t give up and that’s me. I have a healthy dose of “ITS NOW OR NEVER” and that helps. Read ANY book on successful people, most have had major set backs in their life and are SO much stronger and better for it! Don’t take it personally when that stuff happens; learn the lesson and KEEP GOING! The best thing that happened to me was being taken off a breakfast radio show in Gosford when I first started out. I would not have been part of Australia’s, first Nova in 2001 if I hadn’t been. Things happen for a REASON!
Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time?
It’s about being prepared and having the talent, so that when the opportunity does come around, you are ready to go SHAZZAM!!!!!!
Leave a Reply

