Author, Life Coach, Motivational Speaker: Gabrielle Bernstein

Recently featured in the New York Times Sunday Styles section as the next generation guru, motivational speaker, life coach and author Gabrielle Bernstein is making her mark. Expanding the lexicon for the next generation, on January 2010, Gabrielle launches her first book Add More ~ing to Your Life – A hip guide to happiness published by QNY.

Gabrielle was just one year out of college, when she co-founded the Women’s Entrepreneurial Network, a non-profit professional organization that connects female entrepreneurs. 
In 2007, she launched the brand Falling in Love with Your Future: A Young Woman’s Guide to Passion and Happiness, which takes the form of books, life coaching, lectures and more. An integral part of the program is the emphasis on guidance and mentors. Gabrielle recently launched her social networking site http://www.HerFuture.com for young women to find mentors. On January 12, 2010 Gabrielle released her first book ADD MORE ~ing TO YOUR LIFE – A Hip Guide to Happiness (Published by QNY). 


Describe yourself in 3 words: 
Alive, soulful, happy
What is your life motto? I choose love over fear.
When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful? I was an entrepreneur from the get-go. I started my first two businesses at twenty-one. In my early career I experienced minor successes but I never felt the need to play big. In 2005 (at the age of twenty-five) I shifted gears from running a PR business to becoming a speaker/author. This is when everything changed. I had a burning desire to share an empowering message and I was committed to do whatever it took to be heard.
Today, the backbone of my mission is to help others achieve happiness. Because I have dedicated my career and life to service of others I know it is divinely guided. All of my successes are an outward result of my powerful inner beliefs.
How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream? Every day of my life.
Describe how difficult the business really is? There is nothing about my business that I perceive as difficult. I love it so much that I see all obstacles as opportunities. My work is my passion and therefore I have the energy to make anything happen.
The mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson? Recently on the Add More ~ing book tour I had a lecture in SF with a very large guest list. I’d worked hard to promote the event and revved up for a great workshop. When I arrived at the lecture space I was informed that the address on the RSVP link for the event was wrong. Unfortunately I lost more than half of my audience that day and I pissed a lot of people off. The lesson I learned from this was to stop perceiving myself as just a big picture person and to start focusing on the details. In addition, I made a commitment to myself to double-check everything that goes out event if I have a team of people working on it.
What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date?  Forgive.
What is the piece of advice that you weren’t? I wasn’t taught to negotiate and ask for more. I’m working hard on that now.
In your mind, is formal training essential? In my opinion formal training is not essential at all. I like to refer to my work as being backed with life-cred. I can testify to everything I teach because I’ve practiced it on myself and experienced miraculous results. This life-cred method doesn’t apply to every profession but it sure does for mine. People believe you when you believe you.

What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career? The first step towards furthering your career is to believe you are worthy of success. If you have any fear blocking you from moving forward, clean it up immediately. If you don’t know how to clear the fear check out my book Add More ~ing To Your Life. That wasn’t a plug. Seriously, it wasn’t. It is my way of guiding you to clear away any fear that blocks you from being a success.

Leave a Reply

