Yoga Instructor: Mandy Ingber

Mandy Ingber is one of the most popular yoga and fitness instructors in Los Angeles, selling out classes by motivating people through her light-hearted approach and unique teaching style. It is her ability to connect with a wide range of students which makes her accessible to the yoga novice as well as the professional athlete. 


Mandy has been named “Best of LA” in LA Weekly and Los Angeles Magazine for her motivation, inspiration and the unprecedented popularity of her now legendary classes.

Her clients include Jennifer Aniston, Ricki Lake, Brooke Shields, Woody Harrelson, jewelry designer Jennifer Meyer, and Helen Hunt, who gave her credit on the red carpet for getting her body “Oscar-ready.”




Describe yourself in 3 words:
Childlike, Inquisitive, Hardworking.

What is your life motto?         
What happens to you is fate; what you do with it makes you who you are.

When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful?                     
My career found me. I couldn’t stop it, so I decided to go with it. I fell into teaching 15 years ago. I knew within 3 months that I was good at it and that people were responding.  I grew up with a father who was very into yoga and health and his body. It was almost like the religion in my house. I never meant to grow up and fall into his footsteps, but my dad made a huge impression on me – apparently…

How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream? 
I feel that my entire life has been preparation. I am dedicated to offering all that I am. I could not quantify that in hours. What I can say is that actual teaching time has been a minimum of 15 hours a week for over 15 years, but I am constantly logging hours into my personal growth; how that can help others and how can I convey that to massive amounts of people. I will often put in a 15 hour day even now. And when I was first teaching it was a lot of time in preparation and study. Just learning new skills.

Describe how difficult the business really is?   
I think all businesses can be called difficult. People like to say how competitive and difficult things are. What business isn’t competitive? When I was an actress people would tell me how competitive it was. Then when I became a yoga teacher people told me how competitive it was. I try not to compare myself to a statistic. There are always people who do well in a field. And, lets face it, if you are meant to be doing it, you love it and you show up…it can all fall into place very organically.


What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson?
Thinking that I owned the studio that I was a teacher at, just because I was the most popular teacher. I really didn’t know my place, and what I was in charge of and what the studio owner was in charge of. 

What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date? 
Be yourself.

What is the piece of advice that you weren’t? 
I am still trying to figure it out. I know that someone isn’t telling me something.               

In your mind, is formal training essential? 
I do think that it is essential to feel confident that you understand what you are sharing. For many people, that would require formal training. However, usually the best teachers have been trained, and but have been students first. Personally, I share what I enjoy as a student, which is more of an essence that content. I can only do this, because I was born into yoga and watched the yoga community grow. I feel what I “know” cannot be taught in formal training, It is unique to me. But there is always more to learn.

What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career? 
Explore. Study. Take a lot of classes. Teach what you like. Bring yourself into your teaching. Follow the passion. Be open to where it leads you. Don’t have an expectation. Life is not linear, but it does make sense. Be humble and follow along. Don’t force it. Don’t worry. Take care of yourself. Help others if they ask. SHARE. I think my mission statement when I started was to share with others.

What kept you going when you felt like giving up?  
The sun rising. Not knowing what else to do. Other opportunities falling through. Sometimes you have nowhere else to go, so you just have to move forward.

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time?   
I believe that ‘making it’ is an illusion. We have many phases in our lives. We can always take what happens and make it into something wonderful. I feel I have made it, because what I am doing allows me the freedom to be myself, and the opportunity to integrate all the facets of who I am. This is certainly a good moment in my life, but there is a right place and a right time for everything, but in regards to the question…preparation meets opportunity. Have you ever heard that one? That’s luck.


Check out Mandy’s Yogalosophy DVD available at Mandy Ingber Shop and her fabulous website Mandy Ingber dot com

Leave a Reply

