Spiritual Counselor: Amy Oscar

Amy Oscar is a story alchemist, author, magazine editor and mom. She hosts two radio talk shows and writes books about this amazing, enchanted life that we’re living. She hosts the Spirited Writer’s Collective, a Facebook Group. You can read more at http://amyoscar.blogspot.com

Describe yourself in 3 words:
Contemplative, intuitive, engaged
What is your life motto?
You have a choice in every situation. Choose toward love.
When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful? I started working with spiritual materials – reading, studying and taking classes—about 30 years ago. I worked in the human potential field for about ten years, took 15 years off to raise my children, deepening my study as they grew. Now that they’re launched, pretty much, into their own lives, I’m returning to the work I’ve always loved – teaching, writing, empowering others to let their shiny selves into the world. As for writing… I started the day my mother handed me a pencil and a sheet of paper and I made my first mark on the page.
How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream?
Interesting question – let’s change it to how many YEARS did I dedicate to pursuing my dream. It’s a constant pursuit – I’ve been searching, finding, searching, and finding God since the day I was born. I’m sure I won’t stop until the day I die – even then I’ll still be reaching out to make connection with the divine.
Describe how difficult the business really is?
Difficult? No. Challenging, very.
What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson?
When I first started counseling practice I thought I had to know everything – had to have all the answers. My first reading was absolutely awful. I’m sure I scared that poor woman terribly. The reading was accurate but, since I barely let her speak, as I rushed to prove my own ability to BE a spiritual counselor, I’ll never know if it helped her.
What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date?
Be who you really are. Don’t try to emulate some idea you have of what a writer looks like or acts like. Just be. Also, write every day, preferably at the same time and place. Create a rhythm of writing practice (or any other creative practice) by showing up and the work will meet you there.
What is the piece of advice that you weren’t given?
Keep showing up. When you are afraid, take a deep breath and do it anyway. Do the best you can, without apology and, as you are doing so, observe yourself. What can you learn from this experience to make you better the next time opportunity knocks… because it will knock again… and again and again. Opportunity never stops knocking. That’s what I wish someone had told me. And also: Learn to say yes when it does.
In your mind, is formal training essential? 
Yes. But talent is talent.
What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career?
Show up at the page. There is no such thing as writer’s block.
Love what you do – even if you’re not sure it’s “the” thing you are supposed to be doing. Everything is the thing you are supposed to be doing. You are exactly where you are meant to be.
What kept you going when you felt like giving up? 
Love… of words and story, and the interest that being in love with something brings, gratitude for the privilege of being able to write and for the joy of puzzling out a story or essay. Love… of God – I love God with all my heart.
Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time?
Hmmm… kinda. But no. It’s more about hard work and saying yes when opportunity calls.
Here’s how I see it: Each of us defines “making it” for ourselves. Does making it mean piles of money or does it mean security? Does making it mean fame, travel, awards, love? Knowing what will make us happy is the first step to making it. The next step is to keep showing up.
The people who show up, again and again, are often not the most talented but they’re the most driven, the most hungry – the most committed to the dream. They’ve fallen in love with the vision of the future they’ve invented. They’re fallen in love with the work or their idea of where the work is taking them.
In the end, it’s all about love.

Leave a Reply

