Web Strategist: Mick Liubinskas

I’m a web strategist, which means I work on Internet technologies and help them succeed. My chief skill is in balancing the community, technology and business sides – I speak all three languages. I work with startups from very early stages and help them understand where their technology fits in the market. I also work with corporate companies who are trying to access the web user. 


Describe yourself in 3 words:
Smiling surfing geek.

What is your life motto?
I will greet this day with love in my heart. 
When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful?
I got my first computer when I was 7, I love what I do everyday but I think (hope) I’ve got 30 or so years before I’m really successful.

How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream?
Again, I love it, so it’s probably 80 hours a week of working, reading, talking, thinking.

Describe how difficult the business really is?
Every day is a rollercoaster. Super high highs and scary dips. It takes time to do the work, administer the business, grow the business, grow the team and delight the customer. It’s not one job; it’s ten.
What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson?
Leaders can’t bring their moods to work. Your team will double your despair and half your excitement.
What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date?
Nothing beats persistence. This lets me know that it doesn’t matter how many times I get slammed to the ground, if I get up and keep going, I’ll get there.
What is the piece of advice that you weren’t?
(Is this the worse bit of advice?)
Never quit. It’s bad advice. Quit early if you don’t love it.
In your mind, is formal training essential?
Definitely not. Hunger, integrity, consideration are more important.
What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career?
Read 20 books a year. You’ve got to read a whole book to change the way you think. Twitter, blogs and videos will only give you glimpses.
What kept you going when you felt like giving up?
I always remind myself that this is my life going by and that the wonderful scary thing is that it’s all up to me. If I give up, that’s fine, but it’s my choice, not someone else’s.
Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time?
Yes. You need a little bit of both. But if you turn up enough times then it will happen. If you only turn up once, chances are slim.

Leave a Reply

