Professional Surfer: Josh Kerr

Hello my name is Joshua Ian Kerr.
I was born into a large family of 5 older sisters. My father Greg was a surfboard sander at a few of the local surfboard factories and my mother Barbara was a housewife.

I started boogie boarding at the age of 7. My father decided surfing was the better sport for me and as a present gave me my first surfboard at the age of 9. That is when it all began.

At the age of 11 one of the most devastating days of my life happened. When I came home from school and we got the phone call that my father had suffered a heart attack while windsurfing out at Duranbah Beach.

At the ages of 14, 15 and 16 I was doing all the local contest and started to get little sponsorships going with some local shapers ect. It was at 16 when I heard of the airshows happening around Australia and I knew I really wanted to be apart of that. I headed down to Torquay to compete in my first airshow and walked away with a 2nd place and that was the start of something big for me. I left all the junior series stuff behind and followed the airshows around the world competing all over and notched up a good amount of victories including 2x world airshow champion 2001 and 2003.

By the age of 20 I felt like I wanted more from surfing and this was when the asp ‘dream tour’ was really coming into its own. I had already met my now wife Nicole at the age of 19 and with her support I knew it was time to slog it out on the WQS. After a first year goal in 2005 to make the top 50 which I attained, then in 2006 I qualified for the world championship tour by finishing 7th on the world qualifying series. In the same year I got married to my wife Nicole and in early 2007 she gave birth to my daughter Sierra to extend to our family with my stepson Colin.
In my rookie year on the ‘dream tour’ I came out of the gates at home at snapper with a 5th place finish after a memorable heat against Mick Fanning. After a great year of having fun in 08 free surfing and surfing in 10 selected WQS events I found myself qualifying for the 2009 season.

My future goals are to have as much fun and push my surfing as far as I can for as long as I can but most importantly to be the best husband and father that I can be.

Describe yourself in 3 words:
loving, unpredictable, fun

What is your life motto?
Live life to the fullest cause you never know what tomorrow will bring.

When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful?
I always wanted to be a pro surfer from a young age but I really started chasing this dream at 16. Lucky for me it I started to well fast and picked up a major sponsorship deal at 17.

How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream?
All hours of everyday day 24/7 I was living and breathing it dreaming about it. It is my life.

Describe how difficult the business really is?
There are lots of politics involved but if you can hold your own and have good people supporting you, you can survive.

What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson?
As a teenager not taking it so serious and drinking a lot., I let a lot of good opportunities go by.

What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date?
Don’t let any opportunity pass you up.

In your mind, is formal training essential?
Yes in every facet.

What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career?
Keep a business head on your should cause in this sport it doesn’t last for ever.

What kept you going when you felt like giving up?
Family and a great wife.

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time?
Not in my sport its about pushing yourself everyday day in day out!

FOR MORE ON JOSH KERR GO TO www.kerry-azy.com

One thought on “Professional Surfer: Josh Kerr

  1. DUDE U HAD THE BEST RIDE OF THE CONTEST AT BELLS/AND NOW ITS NOT EVEN IN THE TOP 10 RIDES/JOELS 10 WAS A GIMME FOR THE ANNIVERSARY/HE PUNCHED OUT OF TUBE/JUDGES WERE ASLEEP IN TOWER ON UR RIDE/PEOPLE R REALLY PISSED AS U SHOULD BE/GREAT RIDE/I WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER FOR BELLS 5OTH/U GOT SCREWED/PUT IT ON YOUTUBE.U WILL SEE

Leave a Reply

