Jewellery Extraordinaire: Eina Ahluwalia

Breath-stopping, thought provoking, conversation-starting jewellery by Eina Ahluwalia is as her life is – diverse, passionate and full of surprises. Her work in silver is evocative & provocative, and initiates a dialogue between the jewellery, the wearer & the viewer.

Eina  comes  from  a background  of  Marketing,  and after completing her Masters in Business Administration, she worked in the corporate world for four years. In 2003  she  incorporated  her acquired experience and innate creativity and evolved as a jewellery artist and entrepreneur.
Her  niche is individualistic statement jewellery and her brand philosophy is subtle  yet powerful.

Eina  comes  from  a background  of  Marketing,  and after completing her Masters in Business Administration, she worked in the corporate world for four years. In 2003  she  incorporated  her acquired experience and innate creativity and evolved as a jewellery artist and entrepreneur.

 

Describe yourself in 3 words:

Coffee, chocolate, cheese.

Jewellery, travel, food

Exploring, learning, growing


What is your life motto?
To fulfill my potential as a human being to the fullest; my potential to live, learn, give, love and do.

When did you start pursuing your career, and how long did it take to become successful?
I started off as a jewellery artist & entrepreneur in 2003, after an MBA and 4 very boring years in the corporate world. One day I just figured I could not and did not want to spend the rest of my life working my way up a corporate ladder, and trading off all my time & passions for it. So I quit and started designing jewellery.

“Become successful” is a subjective term, and to me, it is also not the aim. It should ideally be the by-product of doing what one loves to do.

In the conventional sense of success I think I have a long way to go, and a lot more to do. And everyday I learn, grow and discover more of what I want to do and where I want to go. The path is really the reward…

How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream?
On an average I put in around 12 hours of work a day, and before a Fashion Week, an exhibition or a show it can go up to16 hours a day. But because I love what I do none of it feels like work, and there’s nothing else I’d rather be doing – Except the paper work and the accounting.

Describe how difficult the business really is?
“Difficult” again is a subjective work. Yes, there are challenges, but that’s what makes the work interesting and fun. The challenges for me are:

a. . Being able to keep increasing our capacity according to the demand, yet maintain the fine workmanship of our hand crafted jewellery

b. . Keeping calm when I see other “designers” copying my work

The mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson?
I have learnt that no one should be indispensable to my work. Having alternatives and back ups is extremely important.

The best piece of advice you have been given to date?
“Hard work never killed anyone” –Dad. He says it with a smile every time he sees me stressed out and exhausted, and it always makes me smile back!

The piece of advice that you weren’t?
Hmm. Can’t think of any.

In your mind, is formal training essential?
Yes & No. Yes because it does give you a strong foundation & technical skills, and no because it often gives you tunnel vision. A lack of formal training leaves you without the weight of history and unrestricted by methodology, and allow you to run on freethinking and imagination. And so if you are truly creative and entrepreneurial, lack of formal training can actually be an asset.

What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career?

  • · Identify where your strengths meet your passions
  • · Find/ create a niche, and make that your exclusive domain
  • · Create a DNA for your work that makes it recognisable
  • · Keep on keeping on even if you don’t instantaneously shoot to stardom
  • · Explore every opportunity that comes your way
  • · Expose the world to your work every way you can
  • · Read, study, research to fuel your passion
  • · Take a break, you need to recharge yourself every now and then
  • · Never, never, never, never, never give up on yourself and your dreams

What kept you going when you felt like giving up?
There have been times I have felt upset or pissed off, but never like giving up. My jewellery is the way I express myself, it’s the place I put my emotions, it’s my language. I could never give it up.

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time?
I think “making it” is 90% about doing what you truly love, belief in yourself, hard work, persisting, persevering, and an unfaltering drive to take your work where it deserves to be. And 10% is the grace of God without which the balance 90% wouldn’t work.

See more at www.einaahluwalia.com

3 thoughts on “Jewellery Extraordinaire: Eina Ahluwalia

  1. very good interview with very relevant & good advice !
    Eina ..you can express yourself so beautifully …just like your jewellery!
    Keep at it!

  2. I admire your decision to be enterpreuner rather than a corporate colleague.
    I saw some of the jewellery decisions by Reena Ahluwalia, a name very similarly to yours. The jewellery designs from Toronto and from Calcutta are thrilling.
    I look forward to your idea as to how fossils can be used in jewellary. Tigere’s eye is a fossil gem. The use of turquise, and lapis lazuli has been extensive in ancient jewellery craft. I saw some examples of your jewellary based on beads. I would love to see some based on studded jewellary.
    Your focuss seems to be mostly on neckless design where as the traditional jewellary covers almost every part of the body.
    How would relate the jewellary with the taxture and structure of the body. More precisely how should the jewellary relate to thin athaletic body compared some one carrying some extra stuff?
    I appreciate your work and wish you all success. I wonder, how I can be some help to you in promoting your thrilling art.

  3. I admire your decision to be enterpreuner rather than a corporate colleague.
    I saw some of the jewellery designs by Reena Ahluwalia, a name very similarly to yours. The jewellery designs from Toronto and from Calcutta are thrilling.
    I look forward to your idea as to how fossils can be used in jewellary. Tigere’s eye is a fossil gem. The use of turquise, and lapis lazuli has been extensive in ancient jewellery craft. I saw some examples of your jewellary based on beads. I would love to see some based on studded jewellary.
    Your focuss seems to be mostly on neckless design where as the traditional jewellary covers almost every part of the body.
    How would relate the jewellary with the taxture and structure of the body. More precisely how should the jewellary relate to thin athaletic body compared some one carrying some extra stuff?
    I appreciate your work and wish you all success. I wonder, how I can be some help to you in promoting your thrilling art.

Leave a Reply

