News; never a dull moment with Newsreader: Geoff Field

In 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Geoff was a finalist in the category of Best FM Newsreader in the Australian Commercial Radio Association Awards.

Geoff Field began his news reading career at the tender age of 16 on radio 2ST in Nowra, on the NSW South Coast, Australia, where his mother used to drive him to work each day.

Geoff’s natural abilities as a newsreader were quickly recognised and he moved to Sydney where he worked for 2SM and 2UW, before taking a job at the city’s leading news-talk station 2GB. He remained there for 8 years presenting the news for Ita Butrose, Derrin Hinch, and radio legend (the late) John Pearce, among others.

Geoff has covered many of the biggest news stories of our time – including the trial of the Anita Cobby murderers, death of Princes Diana, the impeachment of President Clinton, and the election of John Howard as Prime Minister of Australia.

In 1997 Geoff joined Austereo’s 2MMM-FM as news editor for The Andrew Denton Show. He quickly assumed an on-air profile on sister station 2DAY-FM reading news for Wendy Harmer and other top rating shows.Then, Geoff was invited to become newsreader for The Kyle & Jackie O Show in 2004.

In 2007 Geoff was invited to appear on Mornings With Kerri-Anne on the national Nine Network. The show’s producers quickly recognised his appeal and scheduled him for regular appearances on the programme.

In 2010 Geoff started presenting Drive news on 2DAY-FM during the Hamish & Andy Show.

Geoff can be heard every weekday on Drive on 2DAY-FM during the Hamish & Andy Show, and nationally on The Dirt. He can be seen regularly on Kerri-Anne on Channel 9.

Describe yourself in 3 words: Positive, optimistic and aware.

What is your life motto? Treat people how you would like to be treated.

When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful?
I was lucky,I did work experience at my local radio station in Nowra,and got a job the day I left school.I  spent a few years in country and regional radio,then moved to Sydney in the late 80’s where I have worked at most of the AM stations.In 1997 I began work at Sydney’s number 1 FM radio station, 2DAYFM, and I’m still working there.

How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream?
Every time I had a chance, I did work experience at the local radio station. I would even spend most of my weekends there.

Describe how difficult the business really is?
Radio can be a cut throat business,but if you maintain a positive attitude, it’s a great job with many rewards, and a lot of satisfaction.

What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson? When I was younger I rolled my car three times, I soon realised I was not meant to be a driver, but became a passenger!

What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date? Don’t try and please everyone, because not everyone in this world is going to like you.

In your mind, is formal training essential? Radio is a strange business, a lot of it depends on timing and luck, but in the end you have to have a passion for the industry. Sometimes formal training can help, especially if you are interested in journalism.

What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career?
Keep practicing, and don’t give up. If you get rejected ,send another tape to the radio station,and believe in yourself.

What kept you going when you felt like giving up? On the few occasions where I have had difficulties I kept on going,because people I trusted respected me,and had faith in me. Without sounding vain,I also knew I could do the job.

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time?
That is the case sometimes,but in the end up you need talent to back up your “luck” !

To read more about Geoff and his work visit www.geofffield.com.au

Leave a Reply

