Stylist, Interior Designer & Television Host: Juliet Love

Stylist, Interior Designer and Television Host Juliet Love has always had a passion for being creative. After studying at the prestigious Commercial Arts Training College Juliet was snapped up by Vogue Living magazine where she worked as Merchandising Editor.

As well as being a brilliant designer Juliet has never been shy in front of a camera, providing Juliet with a great foundation for her blooming television and voice over career. Juliet’s on camera experience has been varied with her first big break coming in 2009 when she was offered the hosting role with her now fiancée Charlie Albone on the LifeStyle Channel’s The Party Garden. The program was about transforming gardens across Australia into the perfect outdoor celebration setting. Juliet’s has also appeared on screen in a Covergirl video alongside Jennifer Hawkins, Today Tonight, Bigpond TV and the Real Living website.

Juliet created and operates the business, Love Style. Through Love Style Juliet has made it her mission to show people the difference a beautiful environment can make to your life. Quickly becoming an expert in the design industry Juliet’s wealth of knowledge, eye for detail and design passion is in high demand.

Describe yourself in 3 words: Creative, spiritual & loving

(I asked family & friends to help me with this one & they came up with some lovely answers! I recommend people do this for an instant self-esteem booster!) 

What is your life motto?
“I am going to make everything around me beautiful. That will be my life.” 

It’s one of my favourite quotes by the famed (late) Interior Designer Elsie de Wolfe, who was a pioneer in the field. It resonates with me so much. If you create beauty around you, it has a flow on effect to every other aspect of your life.

When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful? I have always been interested design, so I completed my work experience at school at Vogue magazine, as well as with one of Australia’s leading Interior Designer’s Michael Love (no relation!) Following that I landed a great job at Vogue Living which cemented my love of style so I decided to formally study Interior Design & Decoration at an Art School. Overall it has taken years to reach this point, where i’m out on my own & loving it. Of course I still have a list of things I want to achieve in the future. Keeping yourself constantly challenged makes life more interesting.

How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream? Countless! Once you’ve decided to pursue your dream, you make a commitment to yourself to achieve it, and that takes long hours & hard work.

Describe how difficult the business really is? Like anything, there are difficult days, but all in all, I feel pretty lucky to be in this industry. People tend to be very supportive and most colleagues I deal with are lovely.

What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson? Organisation and preparation is the key. Try to do as much as possible in advance to avoid things going wrong.

What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date? Always listen to your heart and trust your instincts.

In your mind, is formal training essential? Talent, determination, and entrepreneurial skills are far more important than a piece of paper in my opinion.

Do you think having a mentor is important? How would you go about getting one for this industry? Experience brings wisdom, so I think it’s very important to have someone to look up to and learn from. Personally, my mentors have been my former boss at Vogue Living, Sharyn Storrier Lyneham (one of the most stylish, creative people in the world!), and my Mum, Angela Belle McSweeney, a very successful businesswoman. They’ve both taught me invaluable lessons I admire them greatly.

What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career? Styling is a niche area, so I would recommend they gain as much experience as possible, even if it means volunteering time to assist a professional. By doing this, they will make industry contacts at the same time.

What kept you going when you felt like giving up? Knowing that quitters don’t get very far! The day before I started filming “The Party Garden” for the Lifestyle Channel, I was petrified! I honestly wanted to call the Producers and call the whole thing off. I was in tears on the floor at my Grandmother’s house (did I mention I’m rather dramatic at times?). I said, “Why am I putting myself through this, it’s so much pressure,” and my Grandmother replied, “Because you want to make something of your life.” She was right. You have a choice – you can sit on your bum all your life, or you can make a difference.

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time? Luck finds those that put in hard work! Success is 99% perspiration, and 1% inspiration.

For more things Juliet, visit  www.lovestyle.com.au
and her blog  http://julietlovestyle.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

