Make Up Artist – Amanda La Monica

One of Sydney’s most sought after bridal makeup artists; Amanda La Monica has gone from strength to strength launching an international cosmetics brand off the back of her highly successful makeup artistry career.

La Monica’s talent is consistently recognised through the Australian Bridal Industry Awards since 2007, winning no1 makeup artist in the state for 2009 and backing it up this year as winner of the ABIA 2010 Designer of Dreams award No1 makeup artist in Australia! Currently also nominated for Cosmopolitan magazine’s Fun, Fearless Female for 2011!

Owning and operating full-time makeup business namely Glamorous by Amanda La Monica, since 2004, La Monica wanted to create a makeup product that would easily and quickly achieve everything her clients and other makeup artists were in search of. The LaGlam mineral make up range was launched in November 2009 and offers a diverse range of cosmetics that aim to make women feel glamorous naturally without having to sacrifice the health of their skin. The success of

LaGlam now sees stockists Australia wide as well as international!

Describe yourself in 3 words? Optimistic. Determined. Bighearted.

What is your life motto? Invest now; rest later!

When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful?
I finished my makeup training in late 2004 and started the business (Glamorous by Amanda La Monica) shortly after that, whilst still working in my banking role full time and pregnant with my first child. It took about 2 years I would say, until I was booked up on weddings every weekend. I then launched my own makeup brand: LaGlam in late 2009.

How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream? Many. Soon after starting the business, my husband and I had our first baby and when she would sleep during the day I would be working on the business: building it up through advertising, networking, research etc. Now, 3 babies later and since launching my own makeup product, the hours are so long. The kids are in day care a lot so I try to get most done then but there are never enough hours in the day! I often only get 5 hours sleep a night by the time I finish in the office at night and even then it’s a broken night’s sleep with one of my 3 children sure to wake!

Describe how difficult the business really is? I think people have an unrealistic view of business in thinking that it’s great to work for yourself, your own hours etc but in reality it is much harder and more stressful tha

n being an employee. Many employees can come home and switch off at night and weekends whereas a business owner is thinking of the business constantly and if you don’t work you don’t get paid – in small business anyway. Being a business owner means giving up a lot of your free time.

What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson? Luckily for me I can’t say that I’ve been taught an extremely valuable lesson from a mistake I’ve made. I do take risks, however they’re well calculated and researched.

What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date? Fake it till you make it!

In your mind, is formal training essential? No, I don’t believe so. When it comes to being a makeup artist I think you’ve either got it or you don’t. The same goes for being in business. Some people can have all the training in the world but can’t stand up against someone with a natural ability.

Do you think having a mentor is important? How would you go about getting one for this industry? Yes having a mentor is important, whether it is another makeup artist or business owner or successful person in your life to offer good advice and be a good sounding board to bounce ideas off.

What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career? Research what other businesses are doing, shadow another successful makeup artist to watch how they work, work for free, there are forums out there where you can offer your makeup services for fashion shoots, modelling etc in exchange for copies of the prints which is a great way to build a portfolio and network.

What kept you going when you felt like giving up? If you give up then you’ll never know if you would have succeeded or not. If you’re going to start something you’ve got to go all in, wholly and be prepared to give it your best shot otherwise there’s no point in starting at all.

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time? Yeah I do a little, but I also think it’s about hard work and determination.

For more information on Amanda, or to book her services go to: www.glamorousbyamanda.com

Leave a Reply

