Editor of Operation Beautiful: Caitlin Boyle

Hello!  I am the editor of the Operation Beautiful site.  I am 26 years old and live in Charlotte, North Carolina with my Husband and two dogs.

When you send a note to the Operation Beautiful site (via my email, OperationBeautiful@gmail.com), you will hear back from me!  I really love to talk to everyone involved in the site, so please drop me a line to say hello and tell me about your Operation Beautiful experiences.

I blog about my healthy lifestyle at Healthy Tipping Point, and Operation Beautiful was launched on my blog in June 2009.   I began Operation Beautiful because I am dedicated to ending negative self-talk in girls, woman, and men.  Through Operation Beautiful, I hope we can all encourage a positive body image in ourselves and others.  I truly believe that your beauty comes from the inside, and your unique qualities that make you YOU should be valued and celebrated.

To learn more about me, check out Healthy Tipping Point.

 

Describe yourself in 3 words: Ambitious, friendly, hopeful.

What is your life motto? Love should come first; it should be the beginning of and the reason for everything.

When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful? I started blogging in June 2008 and translated to being a full-time blogger, motivational speaker, and author in September 2009. I blog at HealthyTippingPoint.com and OperationBeautiful.com, and have a book, Operation Beautiful: Transforming the Way You See Yourself One Post-It Note at a Time.

How many hours did you dedicate to pursuing your dream? Blogging is a nearly 24/7  job (I’ve got to sleep sometime!).  I probably work 5 – 12 hours a day, seven days a week, depending on if I’m traveling for speaking engagements for Operation Beautiful.

Describe how difficult the business really is? I guess ‘difficult’ is really relative. I love what I do so in many ways, it doesn’t feel like work.  I really did not enjoy my old job (I was an urban planner), so even though I only worked 40 hours a week, it felt a lot harder.  Probably the most difficult part of my current job is feeling like I’m always ‘on’ because I’m always crafting blog posts in my head.  Also, opening yourself up to criticism from others is difficult, too, but it’s worth it.

What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson? As a self-employed person, I must say that it is extremely important to open up a separate bank account for taxes and transfer 40% of your earnings into the account each month. Otherwise, you THINK you’re saving money for personal use, but you’re really just saving taxes. 

What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date? Turn off the computer at 8 PM and actually spend time with you family!

In your mind, is formal training essential? Passion is more important than training for what I do. 

Do you think having a mentor is important? How would you go about getting one for this industry? I do think mentors are helpful. My mentor is Molly Barker, the founder of Girls on the Run. Molly keeps me focused and on track.

What are some steps emerging talent can take to start/further their career? Do what you love because you love it – not because you want to make money at it.  If you are genuine and earnest, the rest will come.

What kept you going when you felt like giving up? I remember what it felt like to be someone else’s employee. I never want to do that again!

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time? Sometimes. But I also think making it is about networking, recognizing opportunities, and working hard.

 

Leave a Reply

