Gary Douglas – Founder of Access Consciousness

Gary Douglas is the founder of Access Consciousness™, which he describes as a set of tool, techniques and philosophies that can be used to change any area of your life.

He began Access Consciousness™ in 1990 and now travels the world presenting seminars and workshops on a variety of topics. There are now 1000+ facilitators working with the tools in over 30 countries.

“The ultimate power is to change & transform. What would it be like to live your life from infinite possibilities; infinite choice?” Gary Douglas

Check out Gary’s Upcoming Over 45 and Getting Younger Seminar  in Australia!

Describe yourself in 3 words: I am a happy man.

What is your life motto? All of life comes to me with ease, joy and glory! 

When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful? I started pursuing my career the day I was born and I became successful at 50. At 50 I finally figured out the direction I needed to take to get where I really wanted to go.

How much time and effort did you dedicate to pursuing your dream? My whole life. From the time I was little people would ask me what I wanted to be and I would say I wanted to be happy. So I had been pursuing happiness my whole life. Access Consciousness was the element that finally gave me success in all areas of my life and happiness in all areas but prior to that I was looking for happiness from the time I was little. I did not see a reason to be unhappy; it did not make sense to me.

What are the challenges in your line of work? In my line of work the challenges are dealing with people’s belief that they can’t change things. It’s dealing with the belief people have that they can’t change anything when I know that they actually can. That’s the greatest challenge I have: getting them to look at things different enough to realize they have different choices.

What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson? The mistake I made was actually believing all people are good. I used to think that all people were basically good and it took me a long time to figure out that there are a lot of people who are just damn mean, damn strange, and damn evil. Once I discovered that, it’s gotten easier. I no longer look through the rose-tinted glasses of “Oh, this is really a good person, they just don’t know they have a different choice”. 

What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date? Dress conservatively; think wildly.

In your mind, is formal training essential? It’s not essential but it is helpful, primarily because formal training with give you a level of education that will give you a way to deal with people who are educated but not necessarily bright or right in their head. 

Do you think having a mentor is important? How would you go about getting one for this industry? I never had a mentor but my point of view about having a mentor is that you should always be your own mentor and you should always be looking for what is true for you.

What are some steps those starting out can take to start/further their career? Always be aware of what you’re really shooting for and always trust you over anybody else. So every time you doubt yourself and you find out you were right in the first place, destroy and uncreate everything you did to make you doubt you. 

What kept you going when you weren’t at your best? What kept me going was the recognition of those times when I did achieve something, even if it was from recognizing when I had chosen against my own knowing. That’s what kept me going. What I did was to realize that in those circumstances I was right and I would ask, what would it take for me to always be aware of when I’m making a right choice, instead of doubting my choices?

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time?  Yes and no. It’s helpful when you’re at the right place at the right time, but I don’t think it’s luck I think it’s what you ask for that shows up to give you where you need to be in order to know what’s going to work for you.

If you enjoyed Gary’s confession, check out Dr Dain Heer from Access Consciousness.

Leave a Reply

