Amanda Clarkson – Entrepreneur, Co-founder of Budding Bizz

Amanda Clarkson is a passionate entrepreneur who left school at age 16 and has had 33 jobs and has gone on to establish and run 10 businesses over the last 20 years.

Matt and Amanda run a company called Bidding Buzz and are totally dedicated to helping everyday people find a way to make money from home with eBay.

This amazing journey has seen her now present to thousands of people, from all walks of life, ages and backgrounds around the world, including Australia, London and America.

As a result, everyday people are now living the ‘eBay lifestyle’ enjoying more time and more income for themselves and their families. Her deep desire to help and inspire people to improve their lives both financially and personally, coupled with the powerful Bidding Buzz eBay education programs, has driven her to the top of the business and online community around the world. Amanda’s vision is to help as many people as possible live life more on their own terms instead of someone else’s through The Magic Of Making Money On eBay.

Describe yourself in 3 words: Energetic, Fit, Driven.

What is your life motto?  I’d rather live my life knowing, rather than live it wondering.

When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful? I’m not sure I would call it a career as such, rather a knowing. It’s just something that we do that’s totally natural. In my past life I was a personal trainer and everyday I’d have to motivate people to be their best, but now what I get to do is inspire them which is far more fulfilling; the people we mentor then become self-motivated. People often say to us, what’s it like to be successful, but I believe that success is measured by how much you love your life and not by how much you have. That’s what success really means for me. I’m blessed to say that we get to do what we love everyday.

How much time and effort did you dedicate to pursuing your dream? If I had to count the moments, it would be every moment of every waking day. It’s just who we are. To me I live my purpose. I don’t have a line between home life and business. I don’t believe what people say in that you need to get a balance in life, I believe when you are truly living your purpose there doesn’t need to be a balance because it’s perfectly balanced anyway. So for me, it’s all day everyday. Matt and I have an amazing lifestyle but we can’t stop talking about or doing it [business] because we love it so much.

What are the challenges in your line of work? There are always challenges and it’s part of the journey, but I believe it is how you handle them. Matt’s favourite saying is this: “ When the hurdle seems to high to jump, you can always crawl under it.” There is always a way and one of our main mottos in business is: How can I make it happen? Because somebody before us has made it work. It all comes down to how you look at it and it’s about finding the inner strength and belief to know that you can solve any challenge. It’s just about moving forward step by step, no matter how small the steps are.
What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson? I believe there are no mistakes; I believe there are lessons in life appearing to be quite painful. I can share a lesson that I learnt a long time ago that really changed my life, which was: Never chase or live somebody else’s dream, even if that person is someone you love or are very close to. I think it’s about having the guts to pursue your own journey – even if you don’t know what it is. I believe that it’s within you; you just need to have the strength to live life on your own terms not on others. I did that once and it was slowly killing me. I couldn’t work out what wasn’t right and I woke up one morning and realised it wasn’t my dream; it was someone else’s.

What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date? Never to take the advice of someone who doesn’t have the result you want because they are not qualified to give you their opinion. I was taught that a very long time ago from a mentor.

In your mind, is formal training essential? I think training of any sort is essential if you want to live life to your full potential. I think it’s all about whatever it takes, whether it’s university or a variety of mentors or just working it out for yourself. I think training is essential, however I have never experienced it from the education system. I pretty much failed every subject at school except religion and arts and left at the age of 16. I then went on to have 33 different jobs and started 10 different businesses, some successful, some very unsuccessful. I guess you can say that I’ve come from the school of hard knocks. However, what I can attribute to my life now is having many different mentors whether live, or through books, cd’s or seminars – I devour them and I dedicate at least an hour a day to my self development. That’s the training that keeps me on my track.

Do you think having a mentor is important? How would you go about getting one for this industry? I really believe that having a mentor is essential. I believe there is already someone who has blazed the trail, done the hard yards, made the mistakes and spent their time and money, and you would be almost foolish not to follow in their steps – again if its right for you. There are so many ways you can find a mentor, you can go to a seminar, you can get cd’s, you can watch dvd’s; if you look for a mentor they are certainly out there. My belief about mentors is this, you can always make more money but you can never have more time and for me, I’d rather invest money into mentors and time into my purpose.

What are some steps those starting out can take to start/further their career? I think the first step is self-belief. I think just believing that it’s possible for you is the number one step for anyone to experience success, whatever that might look like for them. Then getting the mentors and knowledge behind you to make it easier for you. They’re the steps.  No one else needs to get you your dream, you just need to be clear of the steps, be clear of the outcome and seek the advice of someone who’s blazed that trail.

It’s also about being disciplined. We have this saying in our office when life’s getting away from you or you’re not getting what you want out of life, ask yourself: Is what I’m doing right now taking me further away or closer to my outcome? If it’s not taking me closer to where I want to go then I just stop. It’s easy to do all the unimportant tasks that are not taking you on the journey you want to go on. It just comes down to discipline and having a clear plan of action.

Ask yourself: “How can I do whatever’s necessary and enjoy the process and then I say, what can I do that I no longer have to do this ever again.” Put something in place that you never have to do that again.

What kept you going when you weren’t at your best? I think most of us on these journeys whatever they are; we all have those days where we question our self and what we are doing. The question I ask myself is this: Am I truly making a difference in people’s lives and if I were to stop what I’m doing who’s life would I miss the chance to impact?

You can’t expect to go through this journey and have everyone in love with you and have the one-sided side of life. As Demartini [Dr John Demartini] talks about in his work, the same amount of people who love you will be the same amount of people hate you for many different reasons. It’s about how you accept that and let that affect you.

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time? I don’t think I believe in luck because I believe we make our own, but I do believe that nothing happens by accident. I believe we are an exact product of our thoughts and actions.  As far as being in the right place at the right time, I don’t think that’s luck, I think it’s destiny and it was meant to be, however it’s up to you to either seize that opportunity or not in that moment.

Leave a Reply

