Ezio De Angelis – Psychic Medium & Author

Ezio is often described as Australia’s foremost authority on spirit communication. His inspired, vibrant demonstration of psychic mediumship has brought comfort to countless people across the country.

“My goal is to demystify Spiritualism, break down the barriers. Show people that our loved ones in the spirit world are never more than a thought away. My mediumship is a blessing…a gift that enables me the pure joy of proving life after death and in the process help people realize that we really are eternal.”

Awe inspiring… amazing… healing… loving… accurate… are the words most used to describe Ezio’s mediumship. He says the proof is in the simple things; a shared memory, an experience had together – intimate personal details that no-one else could have known. He calls this ‘survival evidence’. Evidence that our spirits continue to live, love, laugh and grow even after we die.

“It’s nice to be recognized for my spiritual gifts but the entire purpose of spirit communication is to affirm the continuity of life after the physical person has ceased to be. There is no death…only a new and different kind of life. In many ways, my role as a medium is to be a spirit messenger, a bridge between two worlds.”

Ezio is an acclaimed teacher of metaphysical studies and mediumship conducting development classes and seminars throughout Australia. He is the author of the classic spiritual novel, Rainbows In The Dark: The Tale of Red Eagle. He is also the author of the acclaimed book Living Spirit, a semi autobiographical insight into the world of a working medium.

Together with his wife, Michelle De Angelis, he has co-authored a new book called Postcards from the Other Side – True Stories of the Afterlife which has just been released nationally through Allen and Unwin  book publishers.

[ I have personally read this book and it touched my heart. I highly recommend this if you have interest in the spirit world.]

Describe yourself in 3 words: Tenacious, practical, optimistic.

What is your life motto?  If we are talking in terms of career, I would say it’s to: Work hard and stick to your plan – do what you love. 

When did you start pursuing your career and how long did it take to become successful? About 20 years ago I became interested in spirituality and meditation and those kinds of things, which led to mediumship. What I think it takes to be successful in this work is what I call the three P’s: Practice, Patience and Perseverance. I think you have to stick to it, you’ve got to love it and you’ve go to have the stomach for these things, as there are a lot of tough things you’ve got to deal with.

How much time and effort did you dedicate to pursuing your dream? Probably 10 years. I think it takes a good 6-7 years of real dedication and training to turn the basic ability into good mediumship.

What are the challenges in your line of work? I think the biggest one is self-doubt and overcoming self-doubt because you’re dealing with something, especially in the early stages that is a little abstract and knowing the right way forward is not always clear.
I think the next one is, leaving people a little shinier than I found them – so I try to leave my clients a little more hopeful and uplifted than when I found them and that is always a challenge to me. The way I practice that one is making sure I make a good connection to their loved ones in the spirit world.
The final one would be the tiredness that comes from doing this kind of work, both at the emotional and psychological level and it can be very draining, emotionally, spiritually and physically.

What is the mistake that taught you an extremely valuable lesson? The biggest mistake was putting my own spin (in the early days) on the message that I was receiving, by trying to understand it through my own life experience. I learnt that in the spirit world I have to give the message as I get it. 

What is the best piece of advice you have been given to date? From a mediums point of view it’s to love one another because we are all connected. I think that is the best thing, we all have a responsibility to each other. 

In your mind, is formal training essential? Yes. However, there are lots of mediums that would disagree with that. You need to be dedicated and commit yourself. I think there are a lot of things you need to learn and myths you have to dispel about the spirits and the afterlife; and I think by working with people whom are focused is valuable.

[What’s an example of how you would learn a skill like this? What do you do in the beginning stages?]

It’s a fairly straight pathway but it seems to meander around. Firstly, meditation is the key, you have to learn to meditate and preferably in a group of like minded people who are developing their mediumship.

Secondly, it’s beginning to unlearn the world on how you perceive it to be and that can be a big challenge. 

Do you think having a mentor is important? How would you go about getting one for this industry?  Yes. Find somebody who is doing the work in a manner, which you aspire to do it. For example in my case, there was a guy I saw only once and he was working in a way different to all the other people and I thought, yes, that’s the way you’ve got to do it.

Next, see if you can learn from that person; see if they are running workshops or self-development courses.

What are some steps those starting out can take to start/further their career? The first step is not to rush it. Secondly, our work as mediums is realising that it’s not about us it’s about our clients and the spirit world, that’s really important…and not to take anything personally.

What kept you going when you weren’t at your best? I think there’s something inside of you that makes you want to pursue this life. I think to a last degree it’s a calling, there’s something in your soul that makes you want to do it. 

Do you believe that ‘making it’ is about luck and being in the right place at the right time? I think there’s an element to that, I really do. I always like to say, “the harder I work, the luckier I get.”

Leave a Reply

